SECTION Macrouris Schlecter 1913

TYPE: = Bulbophyllum macrourum Schltr. 1905

Synonyms Sect. Hedyothyrsus Schlechter 1912; Sect. Ischnopus Schlechter 1913;

Characterized by the elongated sympodia which are seldom erect, sometimes creeping and often loosely pendent, The rhizome is always slender with distinct pseudobulbs with a single, persistent leaf and have delicate inflorescence that are mostly multi-flowered but there is a single flowered species. The delicate flowers are white to whitish, often with a yellowish to reddish lip which are always simple in shape, The sepals are tailed and the column is very much shortened with short stelida and a long, narrow foot. The basal nodes of the pedicel is above the attachment of the floral bracts.

There are 28 species in this section from forests at elevations up to 3000 meters in New Guinea, Moluccas and the western Pacific Islands.

Entries below with an asterix are listed in publications by J J Vermeullen and so are more likely correct than ones without. Species with a question mark in front, seem to me to not conform and so please use with caution.

  1. Bulbophyllum callichroma Schltr. 1913 Indonesia and New Guinea

  2. Bulbophyllum cardiophyllum J.J.Verm. 1991 Papua New Guinea

  3. Bulbophyllum cateorum J.J.Verm. 1992 New Guinea

  4. Bulbophyllum chloranthum Schltr. 1905 Papua and New Guinea, Indonesia, and the Solomon Islands

  5. Bulbophyllum dekockii J.J.Sm. 1911 New Guinea

  6. Bulbophyllum dendrochiloides Schltr. 1913 New Guinea

  7. Bulbophyllum fonsflorum J.J.Verm. 1990 Papua New Guinea

  8. Bulbophyllum graciliscapum Schlechter 1905 New Guinea, Solomons, Vanuatu

  9. Bulbophyllum grammopoma J.J.Verm. 1991 New Guinea

  10. Bulbophyllum hengstumianum J.J.Verm., de Vogel & A.Vogel 2010 Bismarck Archipelago

  11. Bulbophyllum kaniense Schltr. 1913 New Guinea

  12. Bulbophyllum levatii Kraenzl.1929 New Guinea, Solomon and Vanuatu Islands

  13. *!Bulbophyllum macrourum Schltr. 1905 Papua New Guinea

  14. Bulbophyllum mulderae J.J.Verm. 1993 New Guinea

  15. Bulbophyllum myon J.J.Verm. 1990 Papua New Guinea

  16. Bulbophyllum olivinum J.J.Sm. 1934 New Guinea

  17. Bulbophyllum orbiculare J.J.Sm. 1912 Moluccas, New Guinea and the Solomon Islands

  18. Bulbophyllum oreodoxa Schltr. 1913 New Guinea

  19. Bulbophyllum phormion J.J.Verm. 1992 New Guinea

  20. Bulbophyllum pidacanthum J.J.Verm. 1992 New Guinea

  21. Bulbophyllum sceliphron J.J.Verm. 1991 Papua New Guinea

  22. Bulbophyllum scopa J.J.Verm. 1990

  23. Bulbophyllum subpatulum J.J.Verm. 2002 New Guinea

  24. Bulbophyllum trifilum J.J.Sm. 1908 Moluccas and New Guinea

References W3 Tropicos, Kew Monocot list , IPNI ; Orchid Monographs Vol 7 Vermeullen 1993; Genera Orchidacearum Vol 6 Epidendroideae Pt 3 Pridgeon, Cribb Chase & Ramussen 2014;